People just don't understand

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What response do you get when you tell people "I'm an ER doctor" this holiday season?

• Total voters

EMRaiden

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
With Thanksgiving and Christmas coming up in a few weeks I am looking forward to another round of seeing family and making bold attempts to explain my job; and that being an ER doctor is it for me. Is it just me or has our speciality do a poor job of defining itself to the public (aside from reality TV shows like 'ER').

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on if I am back home.

In NYC there is no lovin' for any MD's.

but back home its usually, wow, that must be soooo stressful. You have to be really smart because you kind of have to know everything. My {insert story about friend, family etc that went to ed}. thats so great.

If over a decade of one of the highest rated television shows in history hasn't taught the general public, then nothing you say will make a difference. Some people are unteachable.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well, I don't know what kind of ER you work in, but our ED's arent much like ER. I can't even watch that show, its so amazingly innacurate.

Now 'Scrubs' is another story. :D

Scrubs is the real worold, but on TV - including the inner monologue.

You have that too?????????????? :D

My dear Roja, you don't even need to be a doctor to have that. ;)

You should have listed a choice for "Wow that sounds soooo coooool! Tell me about the worst thing you've ever seen"

I hate that.

Oh come on. Everyone knows ER docs crack chests, give chemo, etc. Try explaining to people what a radiologist does.

Me: I'm doing a residency in radiology.
Everyone: So you take x-rays and stuff.
Me: We don't take them. We interpret them. Plus we do CT scans, MRIs, Ultrasounds.
Everyone: What are those?
Me: Never mind. I take x-rays.

Whisker Barrel Cortex said: