This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gatorgirl1997

Reaction score
I am a third-year pre-med undergrad (planning on applying summer 2019 and starting med school in Summer 2020 if all goes well) and my SO is starting M1 (4.5 hour drive from me) tomorrow. We've been dating for 2 years now, he went to my undergrad school, and we are from the same hometown. We were long distance (4 hour drive apart) for half of his gap year, and lived together for the other half of his gap year.

We were able to manage the long distance during his gap year, but long distance obviously won't be the same due to the stress and difficulty of med school. We will probably be able to see each other for holidays since we are from the same hometown so that is a plus, but we both would like to make this relationship work. Any recommendations for managing LDR?

Also, I know med school is much more difficult than undergrad, so what are some realistic expectations I should have for a LDR with a med student?

We are ~hoping~ that my med school will be close to his residency, but that is out of our hands as it depends on his residency match and my med school admission decisions

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a third-year pre-med undergrad (but not graduating until 2021 due to major) and my SO is starting M1 (4.5 hours away from my school) tomorrow. We've been dating for 2 years now, he went to my undergrad school, and we are from the same hometown. We were long distance (4 hours apart) for half of his gap year, and lived together for the other half of his gap year.

We were able to manage the long distance during his gap year, but long distance obviously won't be the same due to the stress and difficulty of med school. We will probably be able to see each other for holidays since we are from the same hometown so that is a plus, but we both would like to make this relationship work. Any recommendations for managing LDR?