This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ki2393

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am almost done with undergrad (I will finish in the summer), but I am currently torn between applying to PA school or Pharmacy school... I enjoy both professions (maybe pharmacy a little more since it's heavier in problem solving with math, chem, bio). I've shadowed one pharmacist and a couple PAs, so I have seen how both work in different areas of medicine etc.

I'm just wondering if any Pharm students or working pharmacists had any advice to give or could tell me about their experience as a pharmacist? I understand the pharmacy market is oversaturated, and PAs are a great up upcoming profession (I was an officer for our Pre-PA society), but I was also a member of the pre-pharm society on campus and really enjoyed my time with the organization and learning more about the profession.. I was also wondering how working pharmacists are being affected by the over-saturation, or if you know anyone who has been negatively affected by the over saturation of pharmacists?

I guess I just need help making a decision on which profession to pursue further! My parents don't have any experience with either profession, so they are unable to advise me.

Members don't see this ad.

In general, pharmacy offers a broader mix of careers. For example, as a pharmacist, you can work for pharmaceutical industry, hospital, retail, government, automation tech companies, and etc.

For PA-C, your clinical choices are rather limited since you are bounded by the physician collaborative agreement. Although there may be some career ladder you can climb as a PA-C but they are few and far between (this is solely based on my exposure of PA-Cs in hospitals). I am sure you can work for different industries as a PA-C but my generalization holds true here.

Please correct me if I am misinformed about PA-Cs.