Route switch from PhD to MD late in the game. HELP PLEASE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jeep&rugby21

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all ! So I was originally planning on doing a PhD program (microbiology) once I graduated. I have since graduated and while I was volunteering in a hospital in my down time, I had the privilege of shadowing a doctor that has both his MD and PhD. So I was able to go and see his lab work and also shadow him clinically with patients. I have since decided to change things up and pursue an MD instead, and couldn't be more excited about this transition! I have quite a bit to ask so bear with me!!

Hence forth, I need insight on the process. Does the volunteer work I'm doing in the hospital (patient transport, mailing work, paper work, news paper/flower delivery, and other delivery services) count as clinical or community service experience? Should I look for something more?
I graduated from my Biology Human Physiology emphasis program with overall GPA of 3.65, I'm currently in line to shadow some more doctors across multiple specialties, and take the MCAT in August.
Since I wouldn't be applying for the start of this fall, I would be applying for next fall. Would a basic EMT course in between help or hinder me? Or was looking to do a masters of physiology or masters of medical science at Loyola.

Also, how does the cycle process work? like if I applied for next fall semester, would I have to apply sooner than later? or would applying next spring be enough? I'm new to all this so any and all input would be helpful!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hence forth, I need insight on the process. Does the volunteer work I'm doing in the hospital (patient transport, mailing work, paper work, news paper/flower delivery, and other delivery services) count as clinical or community service experience?

Clinical.

Should I look for something more?