Schools for Neurology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mcatsaymeow

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a graduate degree in neuroscience and am really really banking on being able to match to Neurology. It's the whole reason I became interested in medicine. To what extent does the school you attend affect your likelihood of getting into a particular specialty? What (if any) schools are amazing for neurology?

Members don't see this ad.

Speaking strictly as an amateur, from interviewing at the University of Illinois' Peoria location the campus screamed neurology, specifically because it is next to the Illinois Neurological Institute (and not a whole ton else). I'd imagine at any schools if you show interest in a specialty, handle your business on Step 1, and do research related to it you would be in good shape. I only mention this location because convenience was so obvious.

The pro's on here can definitely offer more blanket advice, figured I would share this observation since it may be of interest.

I have a graduate degree in neuroscience and am really really banking on being able to match to Neurology. It's the whole reason I became interested in medicine. To what extent does the school you attend affect your likelihood of getting into a particular specialty? What (if any) schools are amazing for neurology?

Literally doesn't matter which US MD or DO school you attend. Neurology isn't super competitive, so assuming you pass your classes, step exams, and graduate you should be fine.

However it would probably be better to attend a school with a home neurology program for the sake of research, shadowing, advising.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)