This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RandomEMT

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I received my score today and got a 496. Which I am well aware of is not a good score. My break down is as follows:

Chem/ physics -124
CARS-122
Bio/Biochem-123
Psych/Soc-127

My GPA is about a 3.5 non science and 3.6 science. I am primarily interested in going D.O because my undergraduate was in exercise sport science and I love the Osteopathic manipulation aspect of teaching.
I have been a volunteer EMT for 3 years, Paid for 6 months. I teach EMT for my county where I teach the skills portion of being an EMT. I have over 1,000 hours shadowing ( Medical Scribe, Shadowing and OBGYN, Vascular Surgeon etc.) My non-Healthcare experienceI was the manager of operations for a restaurant. Lastly, Im currently helping with research at a big hospital in my area.

My question is should I apply to D.O school or just retake the exam because they wont look twice at me? Thank you all for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

So, I received my score today and got a 496. Which I am well aware of is not a good score. My break down is as follows:

Chem/ physics -124
CARS-122
Bio/Biochem-123
Psych/Soc-127

My GPA is about a 3.5 non science and 3.6 science. I am primarily interested in going D.O because my undergraduate was in exercise sport science and I love the Osteopathic manipulation aspect of teaching.
I have been a volunteer EMT for 3 years, Paid for 6 months. I teach EMT for my county where I teach the skills portion of being an EMT. I have over 1,000 hours shadowing ( Medical Scribe, Shadowing and OBGYN, Vascular Surgeon etc.) My non-Healthcare experienceI was the manager of operations for a restaurant. Lastly, Im currently helping with research at a big hospital in my area.

My question is should I apply to D.O school or just retake the exam because they wont look twice at me? Thank you all for the help!