Shadowing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nessiegeo

Reaction score
I am a Sophomore at my university now, wishing to pursue Medical School in the nearby future. I have been actively trying to collect every single shadowing experience I can and thanks to my husband contacts (he is a FM resident), I have been able to get some hours. So far I have shadowed a FM doctor (only 4 or 5 times I think) and a ER doctor (currently). However, I would like to get exposure to other specialties, especially Surgery. My husband is amazing and said he can ask some people at his work, but at the same time that I am extremely grateful, I also would like to try stablishing this first contact by myself. What do you think? Should I take his help or just contact other doctors on my own? If so, how do I do that? Should I email them? Would it be too bold? I truly appreciate your answers!!!

Members don't see this ad.

You only need 50 hours total of shadowing as long as you have some primary care(you do), so you seem good. If you really want to shadow a surgeon take all of the help you can get, especially during Covid. There is nothing wrong with using your contacts. You are lucky to have them.
How are your other ECs going?

Reactions: 2 users
You only need 50 hours total of shadowing as long as you have some primary care(you do), so you seem good. If you really want to shadow a surgeon take all of the help you can get, especially during Covid. There is nothing wrong with using your contacts. You are lucky to have them.
How are your other ECs going?