repoetic

2+ Year Member
Sep 11, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey everyone! I'm new to posting on the student doctor network but definitely not to the forums as I've always found them very informative. I was posting because I just started my freshman year of college and even though I've been telling people I'm interested in medicine, I'm begin to really question that. The thing is, I worked as a cashier at Target last summer and I really hated having to be in a role that served others. I felt sick of having to make all the stupid customers feel like royalty and I was waiting on them hand and foot. In fact, I applied to be on sales floor stocking shelves later on just so I wouldn't have to serve people all day. I've become concerned that I would be a horrible fit for medicine because if I loathe ringing up people's items, wouldn't I also hate answering people's questions about their health all day? I'm very ignorant of the medical field but this aspect of my personality I've discovered has me worried. I love helping people feel better and get so much joy from comforting people in distress which is why I wanted to become a primary care physician so I can become friends with all my patients but I'm afraid it might not be a career for me. Does anyone have advice? Should I even stick with premed? Sorry for all the rambling!!

md-2020

The Immaculate Catch
2+ Year Member
Jun 29, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Shadow some different docs and decide for yourself.

Unless this is a troll post, b/c there's definitely some sentences in there that have me cringing.

gyngyn

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
Reactions: Goro

allantois

5+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2013
Status
Other Health Professions Student
There's nothing more pleasurable than making people feel happy, as long as I'm getting paid well to do it ;)

Mad Jack

Critically Caring
5+ Year Member
Jul 27, 2013
4th Dimension