This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefulfuturedmd

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, SDN. I am seeking a bit of advice on my current academic situation... I am currently a sophomore "Pre-Nursing Major" at my University. As a 17-year-old deciding my major, I wanted to be a nurse because it meant less time in school and I would still be in the medical field. I really did not learn exactly what nurses did until I started volunteering at a hospital and saw first hand for myself (stupid to decide a major without knowing what exactly the duties are, sigh). II always thought I would be passionate about pursuing a career in nursing. As I get a little bit older, I am starting to think that I would rather pursue medicine. I still think nurses are phenomenal but I can't see myself being happy in the long run. It would be a constant "What-if?" situation in my mind. I definitely do not want to take someone else's spot in nursing school if I am not even sure if I want to be a nurse. In terms of school, I am a decent student. I have a 3.77 GPA (but keep in mind, this is without any med school prereqs). I am willing to work hard to get where I want to be. I feel like I lack guidance especially compared to my peers who have known exactly what they wanted to do since a young age. I have looked into the requirements of medical schools and here are my questions.

1. Where did you all get pre-med guidance in terms of finding doctors to shadow, etc? It seems as if (almost) everybody I know who wants to pursue medicine has at least 1 family member in the medical field. I do not. Do you think it would be better to shadow or to scribe?
2. If I changed my major from pre-nursing, I would most likely be in undergrad for at least a semester to a year longer. How bad would it look that I took 5 years to finish undergraduate and changed from nursing to another major on my medical school application?