Studying for Bio

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adent23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I started studying for the DAT almost two weeks ago, and I'm starting to have a difficult time sticking to Ari's schedule for the biology review. I'm about five chapters into Cliffs AP bio, and I have been supplementing it with Feralis's notes (now BC Bio Notes). Basically I spend two days on a chapter where I skim one chapter of Cliffs, skim the corresponding chapter in Feralis's notes, and then take notes based on both sources. In a sense, I feel using both resources to make my own notes will be beneficial in the long run, but I'm worried that the longer chapters will require much more than a couple of days to complete. In turn, this could reduce the amount of time I have to spend on practice tests and DAT Destroyer.

As I read through each chapter in Cliffs, I have a difficult time deciding how much detail I should be including in my own notes. Feralis's notes have been great to help me focus on what I should be writing down, but then I end up spending additional time cross-checking both sources. I feel like Cliffs almost goes into too much detail, but Feralis's notes don't provide enough detail.

Like most people, I am just trying to find an efficient way to review everything, while giving myself enough time to practice what I have reviewed. Any advice on how to approach note taking with Cliffs, or suggestions based on what I mentioned above would be greatly appreciated! :)

I should also mention that I'm take my DAT in the beginning of July. I started studying early because I don't finish this current semester until the third week of May.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.