This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vettomorrow

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I’m in 2nd year undergrad and until this point I’ve been preparing to apply to vet school.

I’ve recently had a change of heart, and am considering applying to UofT in my third year.

I have a question!

-for FCEs, do they take off the lowest one per year (total 3) or is it the lowest 3 across all years, even if they’re in one semester?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Also, you wouldn’t want to apply to only one med school. If you’re new to the med school game and what’s required, I would check out google and familiarize yourself with the process and such.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Oy there’s a lot going on here.

I don’t know what FCE is, I’m sure we can come back to that.

You will need to take the MCAT which you probably know, as well as gain clinical exposure and the rest of the extracurriculars.

You also have to realize this now: you should apply to about 15 Med schools, maybe more depending on your GPA and MCAT score. It’s immensely competitive and applying to one school only is a folly.

You need to see a career advisor and do a lot of reading around this forum to get your plan together if this is something you’re serious about.

Okay a bit of clarification (thanks for the replies everyone)

-UofT as in the University of Toronto (in Canada)

For UofT:
-their non-academic requirements include (a) 3 refs, (b) brief personal essay, and (c) background info (extracurriculars, etc.) form.
-their academic requirements include (a) MCAT (this isn't competitive - you just need 9/10 on each section to be considered) and (b) GPA of 3.6 (but 3.8 is competitive -- right now I'm at about that).

I'm not so worried about the non-academic stuff as I've done tons of work and clubs and etc. and I will continue to