This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scaredhamstermeme

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a rising senior, and I've been in my lab (really small, no grad students, a couple undergrads including me, and the PI) for the past year. I've been focusing more on getting my GPA up over the semesters, so I've only been coming in regularly for the summers. My PI is super nice and everything, but he doesn't really give me much bench stuff to do. I'm always open to learning, but during the hours I come in, he really doesn't seem to be doing much bench work so I'm here and just doing some data analysis, but I want to do more to contribute. Plus I'm studying for the MCAT and working part-time off campus so I don't have the most flexible hours.

There's another undergrad in our lab (not pre-med,) and he's been making lots of progress in benchwork because he's able to come in early mornings, late afternoons, evenings, and weekends but I don't have the freedom to do that. We're currently working on revisions for a paper, so I'll be published for my contributions with data analysis regardless, but I haven't reached a level of self-sufficiency where I'll be able to take ownership of my own projects after this paper gets published. How exactly should I approach my PI about my concerns that I'm not attaining the depth of research I want to achieve?

Members don't see this ad.

I think you should reflect on these concerns yourself before you ask your PI anything.

I'm not sure what you mean. I come in for five to six hours on weekdays from 9:30AM to 2:00PM-ish, so I was thinking this was adequate time to get significant progress in for the summer.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not sure what you mean. I come in for five to six hours on weekdays from 9:30AM to 2:00PM-ish, so I was thinking this was adequate time to get significant progress in for the summer.