Unsure about medical school, should I still apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whiskeyandrye

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm came into college as a pre-med. I've never been 100% sure that it's what I want, it was just always what interested me most. Now I'm a junior in undergrad set to take the MCAT in April and apply this cycle, and I'm still unsure. All of the information/letters of reccommendation have been submitted to my university's pre-medical Committee.

The fact of the matter is, I'm not certain that medicine is the right career for me. I've worked in hospitals and clinics. I've shadowed physicians. I'm still not sure if it's what I want. Some folks I talk to say that I should not apply without 100% certainty that I want to be a physician. Others say that I should just apply -- I really can't be certain that it's for me until I'm there.

(I'd feel like quitting now is giving up at the last moment. Taking a year or two off is an option. An option I never considered because all of my stats look great, plus I just got a break traveling the world during a semester abroad. I feared that time off would make me loose momentum.)

Anyways, what's your opinion on applying without being sure? Should I even keep studying for the MCAT?

Members don't see this ad.

Is there a reason you can pinpoint for your uncertainty? It might just be fear or anxiety at taking such a huge step.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 1 user
If you're not sure whether medicine is the right path for you then you may as well take a gap year or two and do something else. There are other aspects to health care that you can be involved in or if biomedical research is more your style, there are plenty of opportunities down that track. But as @Chasing Never Land said, you'll need to provide a bit more details before we can give further advice.

Members don't see this ad :)