Volunteering/Shadowing Leads in DC/MD/VA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IS2404

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a non-traditional applicant currently working full-time in a non-medical field. I've been having trouble finding doctor's offices or clinics in the DMV area that are open to non-student volunteers who are only available during non-business hours (anytime other than 9am-6pm on weekdays). If you all have any leads, I would be grateful to have them!

Also, I am currently volunteering a 1-2 hours per week at a nursing home. Since I'm really new to this process, I'm sure how that is perceived by admissions committees - does that qualify as clinical volunteering/exposure, since it isn't a doctor's office or hospital? (Side note: aside from how it looks to admissions, I'd also just like to gain some more experience in clinical settings with a wider age range of patients).

Members don't see this ad.

Can you volunteer at a hospital? If you can get in there, you'll have a better shot getting a doctor to let you shadow probably. The hospital I volunteered at allowed me to volunteer in the mornings before work, and I believe the had volunteering on Saturdays too.

I agree with above. You should contact the medical education department at your local hospital (assuming it has a residency) and talk to them about doing an observership. You will get to shadow attendings as well as residents, maybe even get a letter out of it.
PS: I wrote an article on my website about this process and other considerations for extra years before medical school you may find interesting: 5 Secrets to an Effective Gap Year: Become a Purple Cow

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
@IS2404