Walgreens Pharmacist Salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmD227

Reaction score
I recently interviewed for walgreens and everything went well. However, I was shocked at how low the salary is compared to what I have been hearing. I am a recent grad and this will be my first job. The interviewer told me i would be getting $52 an hour. I did some research and the avg is $56. I would like to negotiate my salary but would that even make a difference? I don't want to lose out on finally landing a job. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I recently interviewed for walgreens and everything went well. However, I was shocked at how low the salary is compared to what I have been hearing. I am a recent grad and this will be my first job. The interviewer told me i would be getting $52 an hour. I did some research and the avg is $56. I would like to negotiate my salary but would that even make a difference? I don't want to lose out on finally landing a job. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

TIA
If you already have an offer, you know that they already want YOU. I don't think negotiations imperils a job offer, provided that the candidate is both respectful and reasonable. I personally feel that you will feel better trying to get what you think you are worth, even if they say no and you accept their original offer than not trying at all. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
What region of the country?

It never hurts to negotiate. If it didn’t work I’d still take the offer.

What state is this in?

With this being your first job as a brand “new” pharmacist (assuming your getting fulltime hours), what exactly did you expect your salary to be first year on the market? Perhaps I’m viewing things differently but this is what I’ve always expected the rates to be around given the pharmacist market threshold right now.

Reactions: 1 user