This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AdenineThomasPhosphate

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there. I am set on getting into an MD program in the US. I posted something very similar to this before, but wanted a list and criticism now that I have my MCAT score.

I went to a community college for years, and didn't really apply myself. I ended up with a 3.4 or something. I applied myself at my State University after one mediocre semester and showed strong upward grade trends, getting A's in all of my upper level science classes. My GPA upon graduating from my university was a 3.86, summa cum laude, but cumulatively, including my community college GPA, it is about a 3.7. My science GPA is 3.6-3.7.

My MCAT was a 514 (128/125/130/131). I'm not so stoked on the CARS, but I'm very happy with my composite score.

I have no research experience.

What I'm worried about is my EC's and leadership. In the community college I was a member of the aviation club for 2 years. I also did cross country for one season, then started and captained an outdoor track team for a season, but we lost funding and didn't exist next year. I participated in the swimming club at my university for my last semester. I graduated in 2016, have been working as a Per Diem PCA since December 2014. I have about 2,100+ hours as a PCA (I usually work full time hours). I'll most likely have around 2,500 by the time I apply.

I think starting/being captain to a track team shows leadership, but it was only one semester. I have trained people in my PCA job, and in my old job I acted as a manager when my bosses were out of town as well as trained new employees.