MD What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDoctor29

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just want to say thank you for any advice that you guys choose to give. I have just completed second year of a biology undergrad at York University in Ontario, Canada. I plan to apply to mostly American schools during fourth year, because Canadian schools are nearly impossible to get into. I am going to give an overview of how I did in first and second year so you guys can make an informative response. First year was terrible. I have improved a lot this year, and I want to do even better third and fourth year because those are the most important. Here is some info for the rest of my application; I have been volunteering at this one hospital since grade 11 where I have also done co op. I am currently doing a research practicum and will continue with it till the end of undergrad. I am also a student ambassador for my university, and am confident I will get good recommendation letters. My grades from first and second year are listed below:

First year and first year summer:
6 credits (full year) - Humanities: Islamic Traditions = B
6 credits (full year) - Introduction to Psychology = B
6 credits (full year) - Math. for the Life and Social Sciences = C+
3 credits (1 semester) - Biology I = B
3 credits (1 semester) - Biology II = B+
3 credits (1 semester) - Chemical Structure = C
3 credits (1 semester) - Chemical Dynamics = B
3 credits (1 semester in summer) - Computer Use: Fundamentals = F NCR (retook course this year)

GPA for first year: 5.7/9 (between C+ and B)

Second year:
3 credits (1 semester) - Philosophy: Introduction to Applied Ethics = A
3 credits (1 semester) - Hollywood: Old and New = A
3 credits (1 semester) - Computer Use: Fundamentals = B
3 credits (1 semester) - Biochemistry = B
3 credits (1 semester) - Cell Biology = B+
3 credits (1 semester) - Genetics = A