What can I do to get in? Undergrad considering DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Veritas6

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting. I had some questions about application requirements for my situation. I am aware of the general requirements to apply to med school.

Currently, I am a junior with a 3.46 overall GPA, 3.31 BCPM GPA, and 3.96 Non-Science GPA. I still need to finish about 12-13 more science courses (including the 4 for this semester), with one being ochem 2 (which I got a C+ in ochem 1 last semester = not my subject haha). I cannot take the MCAT this year but will next year when I have passed all the required classes.

Specifically, I am not sure if my "Drugs and Behavior" class (psychology classification: PSY-B) applies to my science (BCPM) GPA. This link: Overall and BCPM GPA | Prospective Doctor states Pharmacy and Pharmacology courses do not count towards a BCPM GPA. I didn't include this class in my listed BCPM GPA. I wasn't sure if this class counts as a Pharmacology course "officially".

The link does say Neuroscience classes are included (it's added under the BIOL section in the link) but my Neuro classes have psychology classifications (PSY-B as before). I did add the one Neuro course I took in my listed BCPM GPA. Are courses included in the BCPM GPA based on the title of the course and not necessarily on the classification?

Lastly, what can I do to stand out? I am planning on being elected President for my non-science organization and am interested in 2 year missionary work after I graduate (2 year gap). I will be starting work at my church's homeless soup kitchen this weekend. I am currently in a school year neuro research internship ending this semester. I have some ideas for letters of rec, but about how many hours of shadowing would I need (I only have a few)? If there is anymore advice I am open to reading it! Thank you all for your help!