What extracurriculars for resume for a bachelor's in public health?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

budavista1996

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening,

I'm a sophomore public health major in New Jersey. I was wondering what most public health majors usually do to supplement their resume. I'm not quite sure what I would like to do after graduation, especially because there's so many different paths I could take with a public health degree. I was also wondering what I could do to get experience in any aspect of public health. I would really like to do something other than volunteering at a hospital (would volunteering at a hospital even matter?). I'm also an EMT and have been volunteering since high school. Any and all help is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

It's okay if you are unsure of what your post-graduation plans are, I only figured mine out two months ago and am in the process of applying for 2017. You are absolutely right by saying there are many different paths to take with a public health degree, so I would explore different facets of the field to supplement the different coursework you will take. Examples include volunteering (hospital, shelter, developing country), being involved in a community service organization or other related organizations on campus, pursuing lab research (if it interests you), and seeking internships either during the semester for academic credit, or during the Summer.