When do I take the MCAT? When do I start studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted778820

I'm a first year Neuroscience student. I don't know when to take the MCAT; I have seen in various med school videos that I should take it in the Spring/Summer time of my junior year of college. The application timeline really confuses me. Can someone please clarify when should I take the MCAT? According to my curriculum I finish with my last pre-req in junior year. I have read that the recommended study time is 3-4 months prior to the test, however I have also seen that some students study with the subject prep books while they are taking the course practicing for the class and MCAT simultaneously. Any recommendations of when to start studying would be very appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sure if you search the forum you could find plenty of information about this.

But when you take the MCAT depends on how many gap years, if any, you plan on taking. It takes 3-5 months to study for the exam and one month for your score to come back. Med school applications open in June and I think you should try to have your MCAT score back by April or May at the latest in case you need to retake it. And, for some reason, the MCAT is not offered in the Winter.

So, taking all of that into consideration, if you want to matriculate straight from undergrad into med school, you would take the MCAT sometime Junior year (in January, for example) so that you get your score back in time to apply during the summer between junior and senior year for admittance in the fall right after graduation. If you want to take one gap year, take the MCAT senior year. If you want two gap years, take it after graduation.