When to DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nikkysygs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current freshman in college. Is it too early to take a practice DAT? I know I won't know more than half of the material but I just wanted to get a feel for it. Is it worth it or is it just a standardized test that I should take when I'm ready and start practicing for later?? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current freshman in college. Is it too early to take a practice DAT? I know I won't know more than half of the material but I just wanted to get a feel for it. Is it worth it or is it just a standardized test that I should take when I'm ready and start practicing for later?? Thanks!

I would take the 2007 DAT that the ADA created to see where you stand (it's available for free). Then I would keep studying until you are confident enough to write it.

Edit: Sorry I misread, I didn't realise you were a freshman. In that case, spend time studying for the DAT once you've gotten your main pre-reqs out of the way (orgo, gen chem, biol).

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
I would take the 2007 DAT that the ADA created to see where you stand (it's available for free). Then I would keep studying until you are confident enough to write it.
My college offers a free DAT. Not sure from what year.

Members don't see this ad :)
Unless you want to drop $300+, don't do it. You also get only three tries before you have to ask for permission to continue taking it...