Withdrawing Application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ripbabwe

Reaction score
Hi guys! I am a third year predental undergrad, so traditionally I should be applying to dental school this month. I have recently been thinking about taking a gap year though, for the purpose of making sure that dentistry is without a doubt the career I want for the rest of my life. I have been studying and working toward it for the past three years in undergrad, and I have honestly done quite well - good GPA, DAT, decent experience. I really believe dentistry would be a good career for me, but I feel like I might always be wondering in the back of my head whether it was THE right choice or whether I should have gone down a different career route. - especially since once I start dental school I am basically married to the debt/career for at least 5-10 years. Do you think I should just go ahead and apply now since I have a decent shot? Or ,do you think I should apply next year, and spend this time to look into other careers to rule them out?
Another option I have been thinking is that I will apply now, and then after some more dental experience this summer if I feel like I want a gap year I could cancel my application before interview invitations are sent out. Would this paint a major red flag on me for future years? If canceling it before interviews does not paint a red flag, what date should I look at as my cutoff to cancel it?

I look forward to some guidance/ideas from others in any direction! Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think cancelling your application will cause any red flags as long as you do not submit it. However because of COVID-19 it will be very difficult to get much exposure to dentistry this summer. If you can find a dentist to shadow, that would be ideal.