Minnesota v Missouri

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

montprevet1017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm pretty new to SDN so forgive me if there is a better place to ask this question. I was recently accepted off the alternate list at both Mizzou and Minnesota. I am feeling extremely lucky and also extremely torn. I would appreciate it if anyone has any insight into either school. I am out-of-state at both and interested in veterinary public health, so any input on their DVM/MPH programs would also be welcome. I am a bit intimidated by Mizzou's fast-paced curriculum (especially with MPH courses on top), but definitely like the option of switching to in-state tuition after my first year. Minnesota's curriculum feels like a better fit, and it seems like the MPH portion of the dual-degree is well-integrated into the DVM stuff, but I'm not sure that's all worth it if I am not granted residency there. Anyway, if anybody has any direction for me, please let me know! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Setting bias aside for a minute: When you look at it financially (I used this website: http://www.vinfoundation.org/AppUti...833&objecttypeid=10&redirectFromMiscDefault=1), there is quite a bit of a difference between tuition ($100,000 +), and with interest you are looking at A LOT more, so I feel like most people will advise you to go to the cheaper school, since you will you get a wonderful education either way. However, ultimately the decision is up to you, regardless of what others say.