Can anybody chime in on these schools: ATSU-SOMA, AZCOM, Western (Lebanon)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

azhockey

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey guys I am trying to choose my top DO school. I have been accepted to AZCOM and ATSU-SOMA already and am interviewing at Western-Lebanon in Dec (debating whether to cancel and save money). If anyone could add any positive or negative things that can help me make a decision that would be great. Tuition doesn't matter whatsoever as I will be taking HPSP scholarship. I am an AZ resident looking for best education and school that fits me. Ultimately, I want to be comfortable with where I am at so I can succeed. Not sure what I would like to go into later on, want to keep options open though. Below are just some general ideas I have about each school. Although it does seem like I am pretty set on AZCOM, I don't want to make a rash decision without hearing some more opinions or thoughts that I have not considered. If some of the things below are not true, please forgive me and clear them up. Any help would be great! Thanks!

AZCOM
- LIKES: more established school (since 1995), lab dissection, high board scores, amazing campus, can do rotations in PHX area and you know where you are going before you matriculate, open-door policy that actually exists.
- DISLIKES: 260 students in class (do you feel like a "number"?)

ATSU-SOMA
- LIKES: smaller class size (bit over 100 students), nice technology, early clinical experience (although I was told at my interview it is only about an hour or two every week during your second year?)
- DISLIKES: no guarantee where you will be going 2nd year (this seems like an awesome experience if you are single and have no family, but I am not), lab prosection. School is much newer (still trying to get kinks out I was told by students).