Academic Dishonesty — in desperate need of advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kabd

Reaction score
Currently, I am a second year undergraduate majoring in bioengineering. I am in a bit of a predicament and am in need of advice. I made a stupid mistake and received a grade of ‘XF’ in organic chem 2 in the summer prior to my second year. I had a 4.0 my first year, and the academic infraction counted towards my GPA as an F. Currently my GPA is sitting at a 3.7, however, aside from the GPA my main concern is how this ‘XF’ will affect me. I am able to have the ‘X’ expunged, leaving the ‘F’ on my transcript, however, when applying it is likely that I will report the infraction although it is no longer on record (schools expect it to be reported regardless of whether or not there is documentation to substantiate it), but I am also technically able to go through the process without reporting it. Since this incident occurred, I have lost all hope in terms of applying to dental school. I understand I have 3 more years of coursework to overshadow it, but it will forever haunt me as I’m sure a large majority of applicants won’t have an infraction at all. Prior to this I have been a part of 2 publications, co-author of one and first-author of another, in the field of nanotechnology. I currently do research at the UM School of Dentistry, working on nanoparticle applications for therapeutic drug delivery. I also have many shadowing hours at a private practice, along with volunteering hours for multiple organizations in my local area. I am only a second year right now, but I feel as though I have been set back tremendously and I am seeking advice from anyone on how I should navigate my current situation and what my stance is for dental schools when I apply in future.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.