This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monti12

ASDOH class of 2026
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I got a lot of hope from reading other journeys similar to mine while I was in the process so I thought I'd share! I was *finally* accepted to dental school this cycle!

About me: Non traditional (I graduated with my Neuro degree in 2015) took the rest of my pre-reqs at both a community college and my local university. My GPA was on the lower end (3.25) and my total science was about 3.15. I actually applied for medical school and took the MCAT in 2017 (I did not get in), but after realizing that dentistry was a much better fit I decided to apply. I knew my stats were low so I took a few more science classes online while working full time and got my GPA up to 3.28 with science of 3.20.

I applied twice (2020 and 2021) and took the DAT twice. The first time I got an AA of 18 (PAT 17, QR 17, RC 20, BIO 16, GC 17, OCHEM 18). The second time I STILL got an AA of 18 (I remember feeling so discouraged with this) but most of my individual scores raised (PAT 19, QR 19, RC 18, BIO 19, GC 18, OCHEM 18).

I have a lot of volunteer experience with weekly phone counseling at crisis line, beach cleanups, and volunteering at dental clinics (I think it totaled 600 hours). I have also worked at the front office of a dental clinic for 3 years and worked as an assistant for about 2.5 years. I have immersed myself in the field as much as possible and have gone to dental conventions/continuing education courses when I can. I shadowed an oral surgeon, neurosurgeon, and 3 general dentists.