This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentistryInMyFuture

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So heres my dilema. I can honestly say I love both Medicine and Dentistry. I have been actively working on my Dental School application for the application process this June and thought I knew exactly what I wanted to do (General Dentistry but do alittle bit of everything: fillings, crowns, Perio, Ortho, and Endo) given my personality and my tendency to get bored very quickly. HOWEVER, I stumbled upon Oral Pathology one day and that got me into looking at Anatomical/Clinical Pathology. Quite honestly, I really feel like Pathology itself is a great fit for me. I love science, and I LOVE the diagnostic aspect to Pathology. I considered Oral Pathology but it didn't look as appealing to me as Pathology did (both opportunities wise and the fact that it is a limited focus of the maxillofacial region).

The dilema is I work as a Dental Assistant and all my shadowing experience is with Dentistry so far. I retake the DAT in April (didn't do so well my 1st attempt as I tried studying while full-time in school). I would love to shadow a Pathologist to get a feel for it and see if it is really what I envision it to be, but back when I was looking to shadow a Physician I had no such luck and instead only heard from a Dentist. Seems like a Pathologist would be even harder to shadow than a family or internal medicine physician (correct me if I am wrong). I love the hands on aspect to Dentistry, but I really love the human body and love the idea of working in a field like Pathology. I have seen on some forums here that Pathology residencies are starting to be hard to get into and it looked as if the job market is saturated already, is this true?