Alabama Med Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sharkfan

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All!

I just joined; I have no idea how I managed to go so long without knowing about SDN!

I am a resident of Alabama, and was wondering if anyone has any good/worthwhile info on the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in Mobile and the University of Alabama School of Medicine (UAB) in Birmingham. I am hoping that I will have to choose between these two schools (gotta love in-state tuition) and would like all the help I can get! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I didn't apply to South Alabama, but I'll probably be attending UAB in the fall. I have acceptances to a couple other schools, but UAB has come out on top so far. Excellent reputation, low cost for in-state students, etc. Send me a private message if you have specific questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you are lucky enough to get interviews and acceptances at both places, then you will probably be able to make your decision based on your interview-day experiences. Stay with a med student in Birmingham and you will find out even more.

If you interview at UAB, it is worth visiting Huntsville and/or Tuscaloosa on the following day to find out whether you want to do your third-year rotations there (you have to decide after the interview). Talk to the students there too, for a different view from the B'ham students.

Anyone know when both schools stop interviewing?

I'm bored. So I tried to find the info on the web.

South finishes interviews by March 15th. Final round of acceptances go out soon after, alternates notified by end of April.

I couldn't find a #$@! thing on UAB's website. Aggravating. You might try e-mailing them; they usually respond within a week.

Hope that helps. I tried. :laugh: