AZCOM clinicals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jimjones

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not sold on the preceptorship set up. I know that it makes sense in someways but the way it was presented at the interview reeked of propaganda.

Was wondering if it is possible to do most of the rotations outside of AZ (like, all except for a couple say), and if it is possible to do 8 weeks surg, 8 weeks of IM in 3rd year and have more elective time in 4th year. Are they very flexible?

Anyone have the answers? Aloha Kid?

Members don't see this ad.

I hear yah Jim Jones,

Yes you can do 8 weeks of surgery but you have to use up your elective 4 weeks by choosing surgery again to make it 8 weeks

The problem is that since you use up your 4 weeks for surgery again, you won't have any elective time to chose 4 weeks of Internal Med again to make Internal Med 8 weeks. For the third year you only get 4 elective weeks. Use it wisely. The fourth year is different. Way more elective time.

Oh! for your info, there is an option for students who don't want to spend so much time rotating in OB/GYN. You can cut down on the number of weeks you spend in that rotation and spend it in peds. I think this a new policy.

Don't worry too much about things. During your third year you are out there to get educated. That comes very first in the grand scheme of things. You still need to pass step 2 of the boards and you want to be fairly competent in all areas.

By the time your 4th year rolls around you can really start to focus on what you want to do. Either surgery of Internal Med if I'm reading you right. Hopefully by then you will know what you want to do and choose one that will fit into your elective time.