This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rssr2017

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here it goes, so I am a college freshman now and I am not doing so well, as the title suggests. I have tried absolutely every study method (probably not, but I still have been trying different ways of studying all the time). But so basically, the problem is that I really, truly do understand the concepts in bio and chem courses, I just really have a hard time with tests. I complete 150+ practice problems of chem, and for bio there aren't many resources that match the exams (besides going to office hours and talking to the prof. themselves). Personally, the first semester my grades dropped last minute, and although that is no excuse, if it matters they all dropped half a letter grade, calc was expected to be an A-)

1st sem- GPA 3.168
Intro to bio- B
Chem 1- B
Calc-B
Freshman sem- A-

Now for sem 2, I thought I'd do better but I haven't been even though I am enjoying and understanding the concepts. At this rate, my projected grades are as follows...

(My school doesn't curve)

2nd sem
Eukaryotic cell- C-
Chem 2- C
Logic- A
Psych- A- (I believe I can get this to an A, this is just what I have now).

I know med schools like to see improvement, and my personal mantra is that my grades should match my knowledge, but they really don't in my opinion, which in addition to the thought of burning out, just raises my anxiety. I spend hours and hours on end studying, and I am just not getting the results I want. So I was just wondering that...

1. Is there still hope for med school?
2. Should I retake the courses?
3. If you have any tips?