This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HRwind

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a freshman and am coming up on my summer deadlines. It's coming down to either...

a) Working at a summer camp. I would be a counselor, in charge of two sets of 15 kids for two 1 month sessions, taking them to activities, etc. It's not volunteer, it's not for people of disabilities, just a classic summer camp.
Pros:
-I would love it, I've spent 9 out of my last 10 summers there, so would definitely have more genuine/passionate things to say/write about it, which I've heard is important.
-Could make me unique(ish) to application committees. Everyone does undergrad research, but not everyone works at a summer camp.
-Would pick up lots of marketable skills (leadership, teamwork, communication, responsibility, etc.) to use (see Pro #1)
Cons:
-Not a "real" job.
-Opportunity will be here every summer
b) My school has a great opportunity for bioengineering majors (which I happen to be) where you can do a full-time bioengineering (often biomedical engineering) research internship after your first year. Some are at the university, some are at other institutions and even med school/research universities. You do 10 weeks of research in a lab, then present it to various people/groups.
Pros:
-Med schools expect research, or at least everyone else has it, so I need it too.
-Could probably do a little other pre-med activity(s) on the side, like EMT training, shadowing, volunteering, etc.
-Only available this first summer.
Cons:
-I'm not really going to be interested in it, and I'll just be doing it to check off a box.
-I'm going to do at least one other research experience during undergrad (required undergrad honors thesis)
I'm doing fine on EC. Volunteering w/ Red Cross, local hospital, food bank, and a physical development mentorship with disabled children, and part of various non pre-medical clubs and activities. 4.00 GPA.