Chemical Engineer Non-Trad Applicant (WAMC/Advice)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

C_Prin_Dia

Reaction score
I've been looking around for a while trying to find someone in a situation similar to mine, but I've had no luck. I'm hoping I'm not repeating what anyone else has posted.

I graduated last year (May 2018) with a B.S. in chemical engineering (23 y/o; cGPA: 3.88; URM). I initially went to school with the plan of going to medical school, but I wanted to do chemical engineering as opposed to chemistry in case I changed my mind. I graduated, and I am now working for the government as a process engineer. I don't really enjoy it, but I wanted to give it a try because all I did in undergrad was research (as opposed to internships).

My degree allowed me to take most of the medical school prerequisites, General Chemistry I and II with labs (A's in all four classes), General Physics I and II with labs (A's in all four classes), Calculus I, II, and II (I got A's in all of them), English for two semesters (I got A's), Organic Chemistry I with Lab (I got a B in the lecture and an A in the lab) and Cell and Genetics Biology (my grade was an A). The only classes I haven't taken are general biology, O Chem 2, and biochemistry.

I've been looking into post-bacc programs, but a lot of the ones I've seen either require that I have taken none of the pre-requisites or all of them. I fall into neither of those categories. I've thought of doing a DIY post-bacc, but with my current job and location, the only classes I can take would be at a community college (which I've heard isn't the best option).

I also have not taken the MCAT, but I plan to study and take it once I've taken the prerequisites.

I've been volunteering for about 5 months on Fridays in the Emergency Room at a hospital near me, and I'm working on finding someone to shadow right now.