This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futurepatho

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can really use some input! I am a senior premed student extremely interested in pursuing forensic pathology. I have high GPA, research + paper, shadowing, and awesome extracurriculars. The only thing is my MCAT score is sub-average. I did not have enough time to study for it, and my score reflects this. I applied MD and DO anyways, and got accepted into a DO school. I feel lucky to have gotten into med school in the first place, but I’m worried DO isn’t the right choice for me. Because I want to pursue pathology, I’m worried about competing with MD’s for residency and essentially doing OMM training and having to be re-certified every few years for something I’ll never use. It seems MD is better for specializing, and DO is mainly primary care, internal med, and surgery. Is it worth doing a masters for 2 years, re-studying for the MCAT, and applying MD, or just taking the DO acceptance and facing the hurdles? I am extremely conflicted here - any input would mean so much. Thank you for taking the time to read this!!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Would you pay $400k to trade in a sure thing for the chance to never be a doctor?

Reactions: 6 users
Isn’t pathology like the least competitive residency? You should be fine. Not to mention, you could very likely change your mind in med school. Take the acceptance and run. There is no guarantee you’d do better on the MCAT even if you did retake!

Reactions: 9 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Isn’t pathology like the least competitive residency? You should be fine. Not to mention, you could very likely change your mind in med school. Take the acceptance and run. There is no guarantee you’d do better on the MCAT even if you did retake!