Clinical Psychology or Psychiatry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HarmlessGhost

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

Currently, I am an undergraduate student on a pre-med path. I am majoring in psychology and neuroscience. For me, intelligence is not a problem. I don't mean to come across as egotistical, but I am extremely smart. I have never failed a class (or an exam). The last time I got a B on a test was in high school during a family crisis. My favorite courses in high school were math (calculus and algebra mostly, since my precalculus teacher was awful), science (chemistry, biology, physical science), and psychology. I also love literature and theatre, so I consider myself to be pretty well rounded.

Money is also a non-issue. I mean this in the debt sense and the income sense. While I would like to have as little debt as possible, I don't concern myself much with money as long as I am stable and happy. I keep a similar philosophy in regard to income. Time is a bit of an issue, but, from what I have seen, the time difference between clinical psychology and psychiatry is not extremely bothersome (for me, at least).

My main concern is the focus of the two career paths. Ultimately, my goal is to help people, specifically those with mental illness, feel better. This goal stems from a family history of suicide, abuse, and other mental illness, and the failure of the healthcare system to help most people in my family (I am in no way implying that all psychiatrists are bad, just that the ones in my area are less than desirable). I want to remedy that problem, whether it is by revolutionizing the system or simply by helping out one person at a time.