Competitive applicant for EM residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

druidboy05

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm an OMS-1, still interested in pursuing a residency spot in EM. I know Step 1 scores are #1 priority, but given that I'm a DO student and the upcoming merger is pretty much eliminating most AOA-associated EM residency spots, what else can I do to set myself apart from other applicants? Summer's coming up and I am trying to figure out if I should utilize it for a research fellowship or if I should consider enrolling in my school's joint MBA program? I heard having a MBA won't do much in terms of competitiveness, so what else can distinguish you when you're up against other DO AND MD students for a mid-level (or highly-sought after) residency program?

Members don't see this ad.

First, you shouldn’t do an MBA unless you want an MBA. It will not help you get a residency and will cost you a significant amount of money. Second, unless you are from one of the large state schools, that MBA is probably worthless anyway.

Next, EM isn’t heavy on research but it never hurts. EM is almost entirely boards and SLOEs which you can’t get until 4th year. So just do well and keep an open mind, because people change specialty interests frequently.

Reactions: 1 users