Dental vs. Optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ailakb6

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, (i posted this thread on the pre-opt page but wanted to post on here to get a variety of answers)
I've been doing a lot of research on optometry and dental schools recently. I'm currently an undergraduate student majoring in sociology but currently working on my prereqs and retaking some classes that I want to get better grades in; hopefully looking into taking either the OAT or DAT end of this year or beginning of next year and applying July of 2017 when applications open. First off, I know they are completely different fields but I guess some opinions from current/post students would be super helpful.
If I were to do optometry, I would definitely look into vision therapy and pediatrics opto.