Help with Extracurricular Activities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drdevil52

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I want to preface this by saying that I am a second-semester sophomore at a state university. My GPA is pretty good (3.95) so far. I am just wondering whether I am doing enough where extracurriculars are concerned, I know everyone has the generic checklist of things that "need" to be done, but I want to know how competitive my extracurriculars are and if they will be sufficient for medical schools when I apply (probably going to be summer 2017).

-I volunteer at a local hospital over breaks from school
-I have a lot of shadowing experience with a friend who is a cardiologist
-I currently have a leadership position for a service organization on campus (I fundraise, plan events and talks, volunteer at various events, etc.). I have had this position going on two semesters now.
-I also tutor bilingual students at a local elementary school for a few hours each week and am planning on working at a hospice through my service organization.
-I also hope to be a TA for organic for my last half of college, but I have not been selected yet.
-As for research, I don't have a huge interest in lab research but I want to still apply some of the concepts I have learned in biology in a lab for a few semesters.
-I don't know if this would help an application, but I also practice martial arts 3 or 4 days a week for fun.

Are these extracurriculars "enough" for a medical school application? I think I have time to maybe do a little more if necessary, but I don't want to squeeze in things just for an application unless I need something more to gain interest from medical schools. I also guess it may help to mention that I do not really care if I go to a great top tier medical school, just somewhere I can get a good education and learn how to practice.

Members don't see this ad.