Is it ethical to give my professor/doctor a gift as a thank you for treating me for free?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LilyAsh

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a medical student. I recently had a medical problem and went to one of the cardiology attendings at my teaching hospital for a check up, because he's the best in the field where I live. I didn't have any medical insurance lol. He was really kind and didn't let me pay a penny. He even went as far as to tell the hospital staff to give me back my money, saying he doesn't accept money from his students. And it was like 3 visits plus an echo appointment. So it did save me A LOT of money. I want to gift him something as a thank you. I was thinking like a fancy tie. Is that ethical/appropriate? He only teaches some lectures, but has nothing to do with grading students and there is no policy against professors accepting gifts from students at my uni as far as I know.
I don't know if it makes any difference, but he's 80+ years old.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
I wouldnt think too much about it. If it truly was a breach of ethics he wouldnt accept anyway.

We have a clinic that's run entirely by faculty that charges a flat rate of $5 per visit which includes basically everything they can do without requiring a referral. We had a classmate with a serious problem that would have ordinarily costed somewhere in the $30,000 range -- ended up paying $25 (5 different visits).

I think charging medical students, assuming they have any control over it, should be considered unethical. I think we all have a responsibility to pay it forward to the future of medicine, but that's just my opinion.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
A handwritten note will mean more than virtually any gift you would choose.

-Ed

Reactions: 18 users
Attendings don't need gifts, appreciation and thanks are all that is required.