Is it possible to get into med school without research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KamG96

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, Im a sophomore in college. Im majoring in biology and have extensive shadowing experience and volunteer experience. If I end up with a good GPA and a good MCAT score is it possible to get into med school without having research experience? Please let me know.

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
As a sophomore, you still have time to get your feet wet with *some* kind of research (not necessarily anything that will be published). At least this will show that you have some familiarity with the process involved with research. If clinical medicine is where your true interests are (I'm the same), then you'll need to diversify your clinical experiences to sort of compensate for a lack of research.

Don't worry! A lot of applicants I interviewed had virtually no research experience but excelled as medical students. :)

Reactions: 2 users
Yes, but doing some research would help both your apps and your MCAT.

Thanks so much! Im definitely going to try and get into a lab, but if not I just didnt want to stress too much! I appreciate the responses.

I can say for sure that working in research made reasoning through research-based passages much easier. Perhaps it would take a lot of research experience to get this effect, but op is still a sophomore so he has plenty of time.

Reactions: 1 users
Research is really only necessary for those aiming to go into academic medicine and focusing on research-heavy schools.

Meh. It varies but reading research papers can help for the verbal and biology sections.

I can say for sure that working in research made reasoning through research-based passages much easier. Perhaps it would take a lot of research experience to get this effect, but op is still a sophomore so he has plenty of time.