Is there a chance? Multiple Red Flags

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2MDorNot2MD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm an M3 (sorta) at a top 20 institution who had to do an alternative course schedule due to some issues that arose during med school.

First of all - I didn't take step 1 at the end of M2 as originally planned, when the time came I panicked and then after talking with my deans decided not to take it. We decided I should go ahead and just start my M3 year, assuming that clinical medicine would fit me better than the basic sciences. Unfortunately, after completing half of my M3 year, I had to step away from the curriculum due to personal issues and poor performance. In those 6 months I received 3 passes and a high pass (the only high pass coming in FM).

I spent the next 6 months away from school and working on my personal issues, along with finally taking Step 1. I studied my ass off for Step 1 for 3.5 months but it was a steep climb since I had not had any of the M1-M2 material in over a year. I finally managed to pass but did not perform at the level I was hoping/expecting. I scored a 207.

I have since resumed clerkships and it looks as though I will end up doing much better than the first time, but still not at honors level. I will likely receive HP in my final 3 clerkships, but my clinical evals have improved a lot.

I was originally considering med/peds but considering I would really like to get into an academic/university program I think it would be smarter to try and just do peds (especially since medicine is one of the clerkships I achieved Pass on).

My question is, coming out of a top 20 institution with strong letters in the field but spotty M3 grades and a meh Step 1, what are the chances of me being able to match a decent academic/university program in pediatrics?