This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ss1817

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for some words of wisdom and hopefully some uplifting advice regarding the application process for PT school... Really hoping to stay away from negative energy so please only helpful (not hurtful) comments.

They say knowledge is power and that is what I'm here for. I am new to the SDN and have been navigating my way through the Pre-PT threads over the past month. This was my second cycle applying to PT school and unfortunately not the result I had hoped for. I am a non-traditional student (I'm 28) who will be going into my 3rd cycle applying. I earned my BS in Health Science - Pre-Clincial Allied Health at the University of Central Florida in 2011. Unfortunately poor study habits which eventually turned into complacency and not having any plans for grad school, left me with a low cumulative GPA (2.8) at graduation. PT was always a field of interest during college but it wasn't until years later and real life work experience that I decided I wanted to go back to school to pursue a career in physical therapy.

I know there a students out there like me who have been accepted with a lower cum GPA (2.7-2.9) so I'm hoping there's still hope for me out there. I have spent the last 2 semesters starting to retake any pre-reqs I did not receive an A in at my local community college. So far I have a post bac GPA of a 4.0. But there is still much to do... I plan to take courses over the summer and into the fall semester as well as retake the GRE (not my best: 292, 4.0W due to a tough personal issue at the time) which I have only taken once thus far.