ALtoNC

Oct 15, 2017
  1. Physical Therapy Student
    Hey everyone,

So I know that this topic has been covered in some form or fashion hundreds of times, but perhaps I am adding a new spin on it. I am currently a first-year student (second semester) DPT student. To get straight to the point, I am considering leaving DPT to pursue a master's in kinesiology or human performance. For the most part, I love school. This decision has nothing to do with the workload, or the time spent, or not enjoying the school itself, but rather where my interests lie. The courses that I love the most are movement science, interventions, and musculoskeletal practice. I also love spending time performing research in the lab with my professors learning more about how the body moves. However, I cannot stand courses such as cardiovascular phys. or clinical pathology. These courses do not interest me and I have a rough time paying attention in these courses. I have always thought since deciding on PT school that I would want to go back for a Ph.D. to do research, but the further I get into school the more I have these inklings that I shouldn't waste any more time and should just go now. Does anyone have any experience with this situation? ANY advice would be great and a help to me. THANK YOU!

ptisfun2

7+ Year Member
    Jan 14, 2013
    1. DPT / OTD
      Hey everyone,