This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulThinking DO

Reaction score
What are my chances to get into a DO program? What programs would accept me? Or should I apply to post bacc/ or masters program?

I have a 2.88 GPA. BS in Human Biology. I have not taken the MCAT (January 2019). I am 26yrs Female African American. I have well over 2000 hours of clinical experience (paid, nonpaid/volunteer).

I was a High-school science teacher for 2 years. This semester I am taking Biochemistry, Epidemiology and study for MCAT (plan on applying to Master of Biomedical or post-bacc to gain acceptance into DO school which is my ultimate dream). I am also considering PA school as Plan B

I want to remain hopeful but my dreams seem like they are drifting further away from me each day. I need advice. Any suggestions for academic enhancement program. I scrawled the internet for countless hours maybe someone can shed some new light on me.

Members don't see this ad.

If you can get your GPA above 3.0 then you should be able to leverage the fact that you're a URM for at least the low to mid tier DO schools (and maybe the HBCUs, but I'm not sure about that). A post bacc would definitely be within reach.

Reactions: 1 user
You need to take enough undergraduate level science courses to increase both your sGPA and cGPA to 3.0. Once you do that if you score 500 or higher on the MCAT then you could receive interviews at some DO schools and possibly some MD schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey HopefulThinking DO,

I'm a non-traditional applicant myself and in a similar situation as you (low GPA, around that age). I first wanted to let you know you're not alone in the process and there are a lot of us that are trying to make our dreams come true!