This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ninjaSNLRX

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone so I need some constructive advice. I am a sophomore and my goal is to become an oncologist. Currently I am a biology major but my heart isn't really in biology. I enjoy taking the pre-requisites for med school but all the extra things on the list of courses for the major don't spark my interest and in turn my motivation. If I were to change my major it would be to healthcare administration and I would use the prerequisites to fill the electives slot of the degree. Luckily I have only taken gen ed courses up to this point so everything I have done is transferable between majors. Here are the pro and cons I have come up with if I did decide to change majors:

Pros:
  • I would be more interested in the majority of the course required of my major.
  • It would be an easier workload because it is not as science intensive.
  • I would have a favorable backup plan if med school doesn't work out
  • I could use the argument that by being healthcare administration, I have a better understanding of how healthcare works when I become a doctor
Cons:
  • I won't have the "blanket" coverage that would make sure that I have all the science prerequisites for all the schools I apply to. This would mean that I would have to make sure I take all the prerequisites for each school I apply to
  • I am at a statistical disadvantage since more science majors are accepted to medical schools
  • I would probably have a harder time taking the MCAT and the first 2 years of medial school since I will only have a basic knowledge of the advanced sciences needed for the 2 groups.

So i have 3 questions:
  1. Should I change majors?
  2. Are there any other Pros and Cons I am overlooking?
  3. Is there anyone who took the non-science route and what did you do to make sure you were a competitive applicant?
Thanks in advance!