This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SubZero726

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I'm having a hard time deciding between NYU and UMB. I'm a Maryland resident, so yes large cost difference. However, I don't like Baltimore and if it doesn't negatively affect my education or cripple me with debt in the future, the extra $ may be worth it for me to live the last years of my 20s in nyc (I know this isn't an important factor to a lot of people but it is to me). I liked both schools (despite the "rumors" about nyu), and they both had a lot of features I liked such as recorded lectures. What I want to know is how big a difference (besides cost) will it make which one I went to after dental school? Am I any more or less likely to specialize or get a more competitive job after having gone to one over the other? I've heard it doesn't matter where you go. But will having gone to one look better than the other once I graduate? Also I've heard both are good clinically for the most part but is one significantly better than the other? I'm afraid of passing up such a competitive program and good price from Maryland, but I'm also afraid somewhere down the line I'll think the differences between cost/programs didn't warrant sentencing the rest of my 20s to baltimore when I could've been living in nyc and basically got the same education.
Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Maryland is a very respected dental school and would be on par, if not held to a higher standard than NYU.
As for jobs and specialization, it will make no difference where you attend.
In private practice, rarely will anyone ask where you graduated from. They are more interested if you are close to them and if you take their insurance.
NYU will cost you 500k+, while Maryland will cost you 200k. You will feel the hurt once you start paying back loans. 500k debt will cripple you.