This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JPO17

Reaction score
Hi! I am currently a third year medical student and was wondering if anyone had any insight or information on doing a residency in pediatric emergency medicine. I have previously worked in an ER for two years prior to med school and I have found in med school that I absolutely love peds, but am more interested in acute care of pediatrics.

I have looked into peds EM residency and know that there are four programs currently offered where you do a combined peds and EM residency. I saw that you can also match general peds then do a peds EM fellowship or match EM followed by a peds EM fellowship. Would anyone be able to break this down for me? I am pretty set on wanting to be a peds EM doc, but just am unsure which way to go. Thanks in advance!

Also, I live in VA and was interested in doing an elective in peds EM and am looking for suggestions on where I should reach out to.

Members don't see this ad.

If your end game is a peds ED, it’s better to go EM residency -> peds fellowship. You’ll see more actual emergencies this way.

Reactions: 3 users
I’ve only done a peds sub-i, so my view is somewhat limited, but if you want peds EM ultimately, do an EM residency, not peds. The peds residents don’t spend a lot of time in the ED and a lot of their residency is spent on inpatient medicine.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the information! The only thing that I heard from my school about this was that I would have a harder time working a children’s hospital in their ER if I did EM to peds fellowship because they prefer the peds to the EM fellowship (They want more peds training). I don’t know if anyone can confirm or deny that...

The Undifferentiated Medical Student podcast has an episode on Combined EM and Peds that might be interesting to check out.

Reactions: 1 users