This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SOAPsucks222

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a transfer student from a 2-year junior college. My goal is to attend Med School and become a doctor.

So I was accepted into The University of Texas at Austin to study BS in Psychology. Later on, I received a letter inviting me into the Honors Humanities program that UT offers. It sounds very interesting though I don't know much about the program. All I know is you create your own major and they claim the program offers scholarships to study abroad and plentiful research opps.

My other option is to stay at my hometown, in Dallas, to attend UTD (UT Dallas). Perks of me staying in Dallas include my job as a Scribe for ScribeAmerica (I work for a Neurology clinic), and UTD is offering me 2$ grand per semester, and I could live at home. (this would be a cheaper option though a lot less fun and maybe less chance for ECs)

What would yall recommend??

Members don't see this ad.

If UT is affordable, then go there, but honestly UTD won't hurt you if you excel. I saw heaps of UTD students on the Texas interview trail this year.

On a personal note, a school would have to give me a lot more than 2 grand a year for me to live with my parents during college. So even if I was in your shoes and picked UTD I would not live at home but everyone's relationship with their parents is different.

Full Disclosure: I go to UT, feel free to PM me if you want more info about going here. I'm a senior, I'm not going to sell you snake oil.

My advice: Go to UT. Being in an honors program here is a very real advantage (I am in one). Not because it's going to impress adcoms, but because of the resources they give their students.