This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the_real_sim_shady

Reaction score
I need help deciding whether post bacc or an SMP is the best option for me to get into medical school. I graduated from a higher end university in 2019 with a cGPA of 2.5 and sGPA of 2.4. Since then, I’ve been taking all science classes (44 credits) via an informal post bacc (retaking pre reqs as well as taking higher level undergrad courses) with a GPA of 3.8. Due to the amount of credits I took during undergrad, I would need another 50 or so credits to get my cGPA up to a 3.0. I have been accepted to Case Western's post bacc as well Rutgers NJMS's Masters of Biomedical Science program and am wondering which type of program would be best for an applicant like me. I am having trouble deciding whether I should keep working towards getting my undergrad GPA up or if I have taken enough undergrad credits since graduating and would now benefit from proving that I can handle grad/med school coursework. For reference I have extensive clinical hours volunteering and working as well as research but no publications. I have not yet taken the MCAT. Also I am female ORM if that makes a difference.

Members don't see this ad.

DIY post bacc: more flexible, cheaper (especially through local CCs), will get the job done.
SMP: costly, high risk vs high reward, Consider it a last resort play.

You have already shown reinvention GPA wise taking 44 hours at a 3.8 (consider that your new GPA). You can easily apply to schools that reward reinvention and don't screen for GPA. At this point, if you obtain a good MCAT score, I believe you have a good chance at receiving some IIs as long as the rest of your application looks good. try posting a WAMC after you get your MCAT score.

If you insist on boosting your GPA further, I would recommend sticking to the post bacc route.