This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gabbythepremed9999

Reaction score
Hey guys! I hope y'all are safe during this pandemic.

I've recently written a literature review on some treatments for Alzheimer's Disease. It's a paper I'm extremely proud of because it took me A LONG time and a lot of research. I was told by a friend (who is also a pre-med) to publish it in an undergrad journal.

I know it's possible to publish research papers as an undergrad, but is it possible to publish a literature review? I mean, I'm no expert to be reviewing experts' work. I'm just a Neuroscience student.

Do you guys know anything about this?

I appreciate any help! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Is this for your school publication?

Kudos for putting in all the hours and doing research on it. But for the sake of med school applications, it wouldn’t hold as much weight as say, something in a journal that went through a rigorous peer-review process where experts in the field examine your paper/review.

That said, I still think it counts for something. If you were including this on your application one day, just note that it was a school publication.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey guys! I hope y'all are safe during this pandemic.

I've recently written a literature review on some treatments for Alzheimer's Disease. It's a paper I'm extremely proud of because it took me A LONG time and a lot of research. I was told by a friend (who is also a pre-med) to publish it in an undergrad journal.

I know it's possible to publish research papers as an undergrad, but is it possible to publish a literature review? I mean, I'm no expert to be reviewing experts' work. I'm just a Neuroscience student.

Do you guys know anything about this?

I appreciate any help! :)