Recovery from addiction in my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

3TScrote

Reaction score
So I'm a premed undergrad, and currently over 2 years sober from drugs and alcohol. My recovery is a huge part in my wanting to go into medicine. I want to help people with mental illness and substance abuse disorders (so Psychiatry, though neurology and neurosurgery seem appealing as well).

I've heard that I should not talk about personal mental illness, but this is such a central part of my story that it seems difficult to "hide" it. How else can I explain why I took 3 years off between high school and college, or why I want to go into medicine, without BSing?

I think I can use my experience as a compelling part of my application, but I want to hear other peoples' opinions, especially and adcoms out there.

Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you should talk about that. I feel like it would hurt you more than it would help.

Reactions: 1 users
So I'm a premed undergrad, and currently over 2 years sober from drugs and alcohol. My recovery is a huge part in my wanting to go into medicine. I want to help people with mental illness and substance abuse disorders (so Psychiatry, though neurology and neurosurgery seem appealing as well).

I've heard that I should not talk about personal mental illness, but this is such a central part of my story that it seems difficult to "hide" it. How else can I explain why I took 3 years off between high school and college, or why I want to go into medicine, without BSing?

I think I can use my experience as a compelling part of my application, but I want to hear other peoples' opinions, especially and adcoms out there.

Thanks in advance